hosting

artists from Brussels & periphery

From to

Centrale

On the occasion of its reopening after refurbishing its spaces, Centrale presents the exhibition hosting (10.10.2024 > 09.02.2025).

hosting welcomes and celebrates the artistic diversity of the Brussels scene, opening up to the city, to its periphery, its artists and its audiences. The exhibition is presented as a large-scale cabinet of curiosities occupying all of Centrale’s spaces.

Inspired by the Summer Exhibition, an annual event held at the Royal Academy in London, hosting is an open call to Brussels-based artists of all generations and disciplines in the visual arts. The Brussels Art Centre is intent on welcoming artists from both the city’s center and its periphery, thus outlining the contours of a wider and more inclusive city, whose perimeter might be called, as says artist Pélagie Gbaguidi, the 20th commune of Brussels. The exhibition hosting questions the notions of hospitality, of territory, of solidarity and of emergence in today’s art ecosystem. Talks and performances will take place in connection with these questions.

The works are selected and curated by an artistic committee including guest artists Manon de Boer, Pélagie Gbaguidi, Juan Pablo Plazas and Richard Venlet, and Tania Nasielski, artistic director at Centrale.

A sale of the exhibited works is organized at Centrale, of which all proceeds go to the artists: a solidarity fund (20% of the proceeds) will be redistributed to all the exhibiting artists of hosting.

Exposition

Centrale
Place Sainte-Catherine 45
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00

TICKETS
€10,00 // €6,00 // €4,00 // €2,50 // €1,25 // €0

115 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

hosting

artists from Brussels & periphery

Du au

Centrale

A l’occasion de sa réouverture après les travaux d’aménagement de ses espaces, la Centrale ouvre ses portes avec l’exposition hosting (10.10.2024 > 09.02.2025).

hosting accueille et célèbre la diversité artistique de la scène bruxelloise actuelle, s’ouvrant à la ville, sa périphérie, ses artistes, ses publics. L’exposition se présente comme un immense cabinet de curiosités occupant tous les espaces de la Centrale.

Inspirée de la Summer Exhibition, événement annuel de la Royal Academy de Londres, hosting se base sur un appel à candidatures adressé aux artistes basé.e.s dans la capitale, de toutes générations et de toutes disciplines en arts visuels. Le centre d’art de la ville de Bruxelles a à cœur d’accueillir les artistes tant du centre que de la périphérie, dessinant les contours d’une ville élargie, dont le pourtour constitue ce que l’artiste Pélagie Gbaguidi nomme la 20ème commune de Bruxelles. Accueillant et exposant les œuvres d’artistes aux parcours divers, hosting interroge les notions d’hospitalité, de territoire, de solidarité et d’émergence dans le paysage de l’art actuel.

Des conversations et événements performatifs sont proposés en lien avec ces questionnements.

Un comité artistique assure la sélection des œuvres et le commissariat. Il est composé des artistes invité.e.s Manon de Boer, Pélagie Gbaguidi, Juan Pablo Plazas et Richard Venlet, et de Tania Nasielski, directrice artistique de la Centrale.

La Centrale met en place l’organisation de la vente des œuvres présentées. Le résultat revient intégralement aux artistes. Un fonds solidaire (20 % du résultat des ventes) est redistribué à toustes les artistes participant à hosting.

Exposition

Centrale
Place Sainte-Catherine 45
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00

TICKETS
10,00 € // 6,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

J-143 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Commissaire

  • Tania NASIELSKI