Irina Favero-Longo

Heavy mechanics

From to

CENTRALE | vitrine

Irina Favero-Longo‘s video project Heavy mechanics at CENTRALE | vitrine (24.11.2022 > 05.03.2023) is based on an urban device present in an everyday landscape: the racing machine of the playground located on Quai à la Houille in Brussels.

In this exhibition, the artist questions this machine in its relationship to the bodies that straddle it and to the gravity of the ground, as well as to its inscription in the space where it is located. The machine is seen as an absorbing device, triggering mental projections, words and reflections.

Irina Favero-Longo starts from her practice of video image to question the behaviour of bodies in relation to a specific context. She creates devices that highlight the porous relationship between the body and its environment: in contact with each other, both elements are subject to absorption, resistance, alteration and deformation. The shapes created by the artist stem from the structures and symbols she finds in urban territories and their influences on our bodies and our individual histories.

Her practice is based on the spaces we inhabit and the passage from one to the other. Inside, the domestic space of “home”, and outside, the public space.
She questions both the relationship of the body to the video device and that of the body to the urban environment.  Her work reveals a sense of strangeness and absurdity that emanates from this encounter between bodies and devices.

 

With the support of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation

 

 © Irina Favero-Longo

Exposition

CENTRALE | vitrine
Rue Sainte-Catherine 13
1000 Brussels

Visible day & night

There's only 98 days left
to visit the exhibition

Curator

  • Tania NASIELSKI

Irina Favero-Longo

Heavy mechanics

Du au

CENTRALE | vitrine

Le projet vidéo Heavy mechanics d’Irina Favero-Longo à la CENTRALE | vitrine (24.11.2022 > 05.03.2023) part d’un dispositif urbain présent dans un paysage du quotidien : la machine de fitness de la plaine de jeux située Quai à la Houille à Bruxelles.

Dans cette exposition, l’artiste questionne cette machine dans son rapport aux corps qui la chevauchent et à la gravité du sol, ainsi qu’à son inscription dans l’espace où elle se trouve. La machine est envisagée comme un dispositif absorbant, déclencheur de projections mentales, de paroles et de réflexions.

Irina Favero-Longo part de sa pratique de l’image vidéo pour questionner les comportements des corps en relation au contexte. Elle crée des dispositifs mettant en lumière les rapports de porosité entre le corps et son environnement : l’absorption, la résistance, l’altération, la déformation de l’un au contact de l’autre. Les formes qu’elle propose naissent des structures et symboles qu’elle trouve dans les territoires urbains et de leurs influences sur nos corps et nos histoires individuelles.

Sa pratique se fonde sur les espaces que nous habitons. L’espace domestique du « chez-soi », du dedans, ainsi que l’espace public, du dehors, et le passage de l’un vers l’autre. Les espaces que nous traversons, ceux que nous occupons. Ce que nous y laissons de nous, ce que nous y prenons.
Elle questionne à la fois le rapport du corps au dispositif vidéo et celui du corps à l’environnement urbain.  Son travail révèle l’étrange et l’absurde émanant de cette rencontre entre corps et dispositifs.

 

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

 

© Irina Favero-Longo

Exposition

CENTRALE | vitrine
Rue Sainte-Catherine 13
1000 Bruxelles

Visible en continu

J-49 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Commissaire

  • Tania NASIELSKI