Photo brut

From to

CENTRALE | hall

CENTRALE presents Photo Brut (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023), a project of exhibitions and multidisciplinary events in collaboration with Bruno Decharme and 3 Brussels-based partner organisations: Art et marges museum, Botanique, and La ” S ” Grand Atelier.

As part of a Brussels event dedicated to raw photographic images bringing together several partners, CENTRALE presents more than 200 photographs from the vast collection of Bruno Decharme, founder of ABCD in Paris, who recently made a large donation of art brut (raw art) to the Pompidou Centre in Paris.

These pictures, taken by self-taught artists, reveal a series of unique and intimate personal universes, staged scenes and disguises. The project questions the role of the collector, his/her power over the categorisation of “raw” creators, as well as the mystery of creation and the medium of photography.

Could art brut and in this case “raw photography” still be classified as a specific category, as defined by Jean Dubuffet?

What mystery does photography hold when it reveals both the visible and the invisible, reality and the perception of reality?

Faithful to its programming principles, CENTRALE has also invited the Brussels artist Angel Vergara for an open and unique dialogue with Bruno Decharme. His work is inspired by the continuous research on the power of the image through performances, videos, installations, paintings and drawings. He tests the limits of art and reality, and stretches the boundaries of reality and its perception. His research on how the contemporary image shapes the interconnected public and private spheres perfectly resonates with “raw” photography. Each piece of Vergara’s work is an attempt to shatter the image; it strives to have an impact on the aesthetic, sociocultural and political level. For this project he was inspired by filmed portraits that the director Bruno Decharme dedicated to the creators of his collection.

Exposition

CENTRALE | hall
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00
Closed on public holidays (25.12.2022 ; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

First Sunday of the month at 11.30 am : guided tour offered with the entrance ticket

186 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

Artist

Curator

  • Carine FOL

Photo brut

Du au

CENTRALE | hall

La CENTRALE présente Photo Brut (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023), un projet d’expositions et d’événements multidisciplinaires en collaboration avec Bruno Decharme et 3 organisations partenaires basées à Bruxelles : Art et marges musée, Botanique, et La « S » Grand Atelier.

Dans le cadre d’un événement bruxellois dédié à l’image photographique brute regroupant plusieurs partenaires, la CENTRALE présente plus de 200 photographies provenant de la riche collection de Bruno Decharme, fondateur d’ABCD à Paris, qui a récemment fait une importante donation d’œuvres d’art brut au Centre Pompidou à Paris.

À travers des clichés réalisés par des auteur.e.s autodidactes dévoilant des univers personnels singuliers et intimistes, des mises en scènes, des travestissements, ce projet questionne autant le rôle du collectionneur, son pouvoir sur la catégorisation des créateurs et créatrices « brut.e.s », que le mystère de la création et le médium de la photographie.
Peut-on actuellement encore considérer l’art brut et en l’occurrence la « photographie brute » comme une catégorie particulière selon la définition donnée à ce concept par Jean Dubuffet ? Quel est le mystère de la photographie qui révèle tant le visible que l’invisible, la réalité et sa perception ?

Fidèle à ses axes de programmation, la CENTRALE a également invité l’artiste bruxellois Angel Vergara pour un dialogue inédit avec Bruno Decharme. Son travail se nourrit d’une recherche continue sur le pouvoir de l’image à travers des performances, vidéos, installations, peintures et dessins. Il teste les limites de l’art et de la réalité, de la réalité et de sa perception. Sa recherche sur la manière dont l’image contemporaine façonne les sphères publiques et privées entremêlées entre parfaitement en résonance avec les photographies « brutes ». Chaque œuvre de Vergara est une tentative de briser l’image et d’avoir un impact sur le plan esthétique, mais aussi socioculturel, voire politique. Pour ce projet il s’est inspiré de portraits filmés que le réalisateur Bruno Decharme a dédiés à des créateurs et créatrices de sa collection.

Exposition

CENTRALE | hall
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00
Fermé les jours fériés (25.12.2022; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

Premier dimanche du mois à 11h30 : visite guidée offerte avec le ticket d’entrée

J-186 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Artist

Commissaire

  • Carine FOL