Nelleke Cloosterman

Cardshark

From to

CENTRALE | lab

Nelleke Cloosterman presents the project Cardshark at CENTRALE | lab (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023).
For this exhibition, Cloosterman creates walls that are shaped like cards and look like they have randomly been spread into the space.

The title Cardshark refers to someone who makes money by cheating at card games, as well as to the very cards the artist uses in her paintings as vanitas symbols. This might suggest that the exhibited cards have been thrown away by the cardshark (a gambler), thus echoing the vanitas symbol of gambling with life.

The paintings hanging onto the card-walls become windows to Nelleke Cloosterman’s painterly universe. During her work-in-progress at CENTRALE | lab, this universe will expand, a multitude of these ‘windows’ being added, eventually forming a global installation bringing together multi-layered narratives.

Using classic art historical themes and motives – such as plants, animals and soap bubbles – Cloosterman creates a universe that looks familiar, yet often escapes logic or natural laws. Abstract dream landscapes, a flower garden that presents vegetation from every season, or birds flying high in the sky without wings, these are all subtle disruptions of a reality to be received by the viewer.
The gradients that we frequently see in her paintings suggest the compression of time, which contributes to the idea that the painting is not a snapshot but an ongoing landscape where the elements of the painting tell a story.

Nelleke Cloosterman (1996) received her BFA and MFA in Belgium at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Gent en became a HISK alumni in 2021.

Rewind, 2022, Oil on canvas, 50 x 50 cm

 

With the support of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation

 

© Nelleke Cloosterman

Exposition

CENTRALE | lab
Place Sainte-Catherine 16
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 13:00 – 13:30 > 18:00

Closed on public holidays (25.12.2022 ; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
0 €

There's only 110 days left
to visit the exhibition

Curator

  • Tania NASIELSKI

Nelleke Cloosterman

Cardshark

Du au

CENTRALE | lab

Nelleke Cloosterman présente Cardshark à la CENTRALE | lab (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023).
Pour ce projet, Cloosterman crée des pans de murs qui ont la forme de cartes à jouer. Celles-ci semblent avoir été lancées au hasard dans l’espace d’exposition.

Le titre Cardshark fait référence aux personnes qui gagnent de l’argent en trichant aux cartes, ainsi qu’aux cartes elles-mêmes, présentes dans les tableaux de l’artiste comme des symboles issus de vanités. Cela pourrait suggérer que les cartes exposées ont été lancées par un cardshark (un joueur), faisant écho à ces symboles des vanités qui jouent avec la vie et la mort.

Les peintures accrochées aux cartes-murs deviennent des fenêtres sur l’univers pictural de Nelleke Cloosterman. Au cours de son work-in-progress à la CENTRALE | lab, cet univers va s’étendre, une multitude de « fenêtres » s’ajoutant au fur et à mesure, pour former une installation globale rassemblant des récits qui se superposent.

En utilisant des thèmes et des motifs classiques de l’histoire de l’art – les plantes, les animaux et les bulles – Cloosterman crée un univers qui semble familier, mais qui échappe néanmoins à la logique ou aux lois naturelles. Des paysages de rêve abstraits, un jardin de fleurs associant des végétations de toutes les saisons, ou des oiseaux volant sans ailes dans les airs sont autant de perturbations subtiles d’une réalité à recevoir par le spectateur.
Les dégradés que l’on voit fréquemment dans ses tableaux suggèrent une compression du temps, contribuant à l’idée que le tableau n’est pas un instantané mais un paysage continu où les éléments peuplant le tableau racontent une histoire.

Nelleke Cloosterman (1996) a obtenu son BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) et son MFA (Master of Fine Arts) en Belgique à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de Gand et est diplômée du HISK en 2021.

Rewind, 2022, Oil on canvas, 50 x 50 cm

 

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

 

© Nelleke Cloosterman

Exposition

CENTRALE | lab
Place Sainte-Catherine 16
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 13:00 – 13:30 > 18:00

Fermé les jours fériés (25.12.2022; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
0 €

J-56 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Commissaire

  • Tania NASIELSKI