Maud Gourdon

Cataplasme

From to

CENTRALE | box

Maud Gourdon presents the exhibition Cataplasme at CENTRALE | box (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023). The artist questions the notions of “repair” and “decoration” and explores through them our relationship to the feminine, to health and to the mystical.

Maud Gourdon’s artistic practice is particularly interested in disciplines identified as feminine, passive and minor, such as decoration and ornamentation, hobby and craft, alternative medicine and mysticism. She questions how the aesthetics they produce can become an element of subversion, an opposition to dominant cultural constructions.

The new body of work presented in the exhibition stems from Maud Gourdon’s experiments with the cataplasm, also known as a plaster: a pasty remedy made from clay, plants or flours, which the artist uses as a sculptural and ornamental material.
Nowadays being relegated to the category of “grandmother’s” remedies, the cataplasm is regarded by the artist as related to the mother figure and to the knowledge that is traditionally passed on from mother to daughter: manual work, cooking, sewing, interior decoration, remedies, etc.

A series of sculptures made with the materials of cataplasms are placed around the exhibition space. To produce them, the artist has developed a mixture of medicinal clay and plant fibres, which is then placed and compressed in carved wooden moulds. This paste then becomes the material and support for a series of coloured motifs, between abstraction and figuration, between mash and ornament.

The installation is completed by two sculptures placed on the floor. They consist of a combination of words and numbers inserted into a black and white pattern representing knitted fabrics. Placed inside this ornament, as if framed, these words suddenly acquire strength and intensity. With this the artist humorously questions some aspects of language: the poetic, the decorative but also the curative aspect of it.

Laureate of the City of Brussels > Médiatine Prize 2021

With the support of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation

© Maud Gourdon

Exposition

CENTRALE | box
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00

Closed on public holidays (25.12.2022 ; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
0 €

104 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

Artist

Curator

  • Tania NASIELSKI

Maud Gourdon

Cataplasme !

Du au

CENTRALE | box

Maud Gourdon présente l’exposition Cataplasme ! à la CENTRALE | box (24.11.2022 > 19.03.2023). L’artiste y questionne les notions de « réparation » et de « décoration », et explore à travers elles nos relations au féminin, à la santé et au mystique.

La pratique artistique de Maud Gourdon s’intéresse particulièrement aux disciplines identifiées comme féminines, passives et mineures, telles que la décoration et l’ornementation, les loisirs créatifs et l’artisanat, la médecine alternative et le mysticisme. Elle interroge la manière dont l’esthétique qu’elles produisent peut devenir un élément de subversion, une opposition aux constructions culturelles dominantes.

Le nouveau corpus d’œuvres présenté dans l’exposition est issu des expérimentations de Maud Gourdon autour du cataplasme, aussi appelé emplâtre : un remède pâteux à base d’argile, de plantes ou de farines, que l’artiste utilise comme matière sculpturale et ornementale.
Relégué aujourd’hui dans la catégorie des remèdes dit de « grand-mère », le cataplasme est, pour l’artiste, lié à la figure maternelle et aux connaissances qui se transmettent traditionnellement de mère en fille : travaux manuels, cuisine, couture, décoration d’intérieur, remède, …

Une série de sculptures produites à partir des matériaux du cataplasme sont placées tout autour de l’espace d’exposition. Pour les réaliser, l’artiste a développé un mélange composé d’argile médicinale et de fibres végétales, qui est ensuite placé et compressé dans des moules en bois gravés. Cette pâte argileuse devient alors la matière et le support d’une série de motifs colorés, entre abstraction et figuration, entre bouillie et ornement.

Deux sculptures posées au sol complètent cette installation. Elles se composent d’une combinaison de mots et de chiffres insérés dans un motif noir et blanc représentant des mailles de tricot. Placés à l’intérieur de cet ornement, comme encadrés, ces mots acquièrent force et intensité. L’artiste interroge ici avec humour l’aspect poétique, décoratif mais aussi curatif du langage.

Lauréate de la Ville de Bruxelles > Prix Médiatine 2021

 

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

 

 © Maud Gourdon

Exposition

CENTRALE | box
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00

Fermé les jours fériés (25.12.2022; 01.01.2023)

TICKETS
0 €

J-56 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Artist

Commissaire

  • Tania NASIELSKI