La Vie matérielle

From to

CENTRALE | hall

CENTRALE presents the exhibition La Vie matérielle (09.12.2021 > 13.03.2022), a dialogue between 12 Italian and Belgian artists on the link between art and life.

La Vie matérielle, named after the book of the same name by Marguerite Duras, explores and relates the artistic journey to personal experience.
Both Duras’ book and the works in the exhibition are defined by a constant dialogue between ordinary everyday life (of which the body is a crucial element) and the inner, intimate life, torn between its deepest aspirations and reality.

By reusing, hybridising, diverting or decontextualizing organic materials and everyday objects and giving them a new life that transcends their usual use, the artists in the exhibition bridge the divide between artistic disciplines.
Despite their very different approaches and perceptions, what Chiara Camoni, Alice Cattaneo, Elena El Asmar, Serena Fineschi, Ludovica Gioscia, Loredana Longo, Claudia Losi and Sabrina Mezzaqui have in common is the use of often modest materials that are traditionally associated with crafts.
They are joined by Léa Belooussovitch, Gwendoline Robin, Lieve Van Stappen, Arlette Vermeiren, four Belgian artists whose artistic practices are close to those of their Italian counterparts. All of them seek a ‘refuge’ for the ‘self’ in the world, inspired the regeneration of objects and materials that are dear to them.

Through provocative or questioning narratives, fragile or energetic stagings, these very diverse works (assemblages, videos, drawings, sculptures, installations) blend the finished and the unfinished, the knowing and the sensing.
The exhibition integrates and explores several senses, in particular vision and touch, through a journey that takes the viewer inside a kind of emotional and mental spider’s web, hoping that at the end of the journey, we will have gained new perspectives on how we perceive and read our shared ‘material world’, and the link that art allows us to create between our body and our inner world.

A collaboration between Palazzo Magnani Foundation (Reggio Emilia) and CENTRALE for contemporary art (Brussels)

This exhibition, proposed in 2018-2019 in its Italian version at the Palazzo da Mosto by the Palazzo Magnani Foundation in Reggio Emilia under the curatorship of Marina Dacci, has been redesigned for CENTRALE in collaboration with its artistic director Carine Fol and is part of an exchange through the presentation of Sophie Whettnall’s exhibition Universo Dentro at the Chiostri di San Pietro from May to July 2021.

© Serena Fineschi

In collaboration with visit.brussels

Exposition

CENTRALE.hall
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Brussels
WED > SUN 10:30 > 18:00
Closed on public holidays (25.12.2021 ; 01.01.2022)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

First Sunday of the month at 11.30 am : guided tour offered with the entrance ticket

 

 

8 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

La Vie matérielle

Du au

CENTRALE.hall

La CENTRALE présente l’exposition La Vie matérielle (09.12.2021 > 13.03.2022) un dialogue entre 12 artistes, italiennes et belges, autour du lien entre l’art et la vie.

La Vie matérielle, intitulée ainsi en référence au recueil éponyme de Marguerite Duras, explore et relie cheminement artistique et expérience personnelle.

Tant le livre de Duras que les œuvres de l’exposition se définissent par un dialogue constant entre le quotidien ordinaire (dont le corps est un élément crucial) et la vie intérieure et intime, tiraillée entre ses aspirations profondes et la réalité.

En réutilisant, hybridant, détournant ou décontextualisant des matières organiques, des objets du quotidien, et en leur offrant une nouvelle vie qui transcende leur usage habituel, les artistes de l’exposition dépassent les clivages entre les disciplines artistiques.

Bien qu’ayant des pratiques et expérimentations très différentes, Chiara Camoni, Alice Cattaneo, Elena El Asmar, Serena Fineschi, Ludovica Gioscia, Loredana Longo, Claudia Losi, Sabrina Mezzaqui, ont comme point commun l’utilisation de matériaux souvent humbles et traditionnellement associés à l’artisanat.

Elles sont rejointes par Léa Belooussovitch, Gwendoline RobinLieve Van Stappen, Arlette Vermeiren, 4 artistes belges dont les pratiques et les démarches sont proches de celles de leurs homologues italiennes. Toutes dessinent un « refuge » du moi dans le monde, induit par la régénération d’objets et de matériaux qui leur sont chers.

A travers des narrations provocantes ou interrogatives, des mises en scène d’une grande fragilité ou pleines d’énergie, ces œuvres très diversifiées (assemblages, vidéos, dessins, sculptures, installations) mêlent le fini et l’inachevé, le vu et le ressenti.

L’exposition implique et interroge plusieurs sens, en particulier la vision et le toucher, à travers un parcours qui saisit le spectateur/ la spectatrice à l’intérieur d’une sorte de toile d’araignée, émotionnelle et mentale, avec l’espoir qu’à la fin du parcours, s’ouvriront peut-être de nouvelles perspectives sur notre manière de percevoir et de lire notre « vie matérielle » commune, et le lien que l’art permet de créer entre notre corps et notre vie intérieure.

Une collaboration entre la Fondation Palazzo Magnani (Reggio Emilia) et la CENTRALE for contemporary art (Bruxelles)

Cette exposition, proposée en 2018-2019 dans sa version italienne au Palazzo da Mosto par la Fondation Palazzo Magnani en Reggio Emilia sous le commissariat de Marina Dacci, a été repensée pour la CENTRALE en collaboration avec sa directrice artistique Carine Fol et s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un échange par la présentation de l’exposition Universo Dentro de Sophie Whettnall au Cloistro San Pietro de mai à juillet 2021.

© Serena Fineschi

En collaboration avec visit.brussels

Exposition

CENTRALE.hall
Place Sainte-Catherine 44
1000 Bruxelles
MER > DIM 10:30 > 18:00
Fermé les jours fériés (25.12.2021; 01.01.2022)

TICKETS
8,00 € // 4,00 € // 2,50 € // 1,25 € // 0 €

Premier dimanche du mois à 11h30 : visite guidée offerte avec le ticket d’entrée

 

J-74 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition