This is what you came for

From to

CENTRALE | hall

The exhibition This is what you came for (28.04 > 02.10.2022) is a project by Els Dietvorst at CENTRALE for contemporary artBozar in the mark of the BelgianArtPrize, and an encounter with Els Dietvorst, ACM, Alex Akuete aka Xray, Sadrie Alves, Simon Arazi, Stefania Assandri, Honey Zinzs, Giulia Cauti, Daria Likhovitckaia, Asia Nyembo Mireille, Aurelie Di Marino, Flor Maesen, Laurence Petrone, Philippe Vandenberg, Yi Zhang and Y.

BelgianArtPrize 2021 laureate Els Dietvorst (°1964, Kapellen) is a visual artist and filmmaker who has been living in Ireland for the last 12 years. Dialogue, experiment and intuition are recurring strategies in her work. Ever since the 1990s, the artist has been moved by social issues such as migration, racism and climate change. She investigates the human condition, which in her oeuvre results in themes such as life and death, fear, alienation and desire.

The exhibition This is what you came for is conceived as an encounter and an invitation. The proposal grew out of the almost ritualistic actions and creations that Els Dietvorst started during the C19 lockdown. This is what you came for at CENTRALE and Bozar creates a fluid wave between the two places where one mirrors the other. A myriad of mediums including sculpture, installation, video and performance will introduce you to the universe of Els Dietvorst, in which she is always looking for connections with people and creates places for encounters.

 

Exposition

93 days left
before the exhibition’s opening

Artist

This is what you came for

Du au

CENTRALE | hall

L’exposition This is what you came for (28.04 > 02.10.2022) est un projet d’Els Dietvorst à la CENTRALE for contemporary art et à Bozar, dans le cadre du BelgianArtPrize, et une rencontre avec Els Dietvorst, ACM, Alex Akuete aka Xray, Sadrie Alves, Simon Arazi, Stefania Assandri, Honey Zinzs, Giulia Cauti, Daria Likhovitckaia, Asia Nyembo Mireille, Aurelie Di Marino, Flor Maesen, Laurence Petrone, Philippe Vandenberg, Yi Zhang et Y.

La lauréate du BelgianArtPrize 2021 Els Dietvorst (°1964, Kapellen) est une artiste plasticienne et une cinéaste qui vit et travaille dans le sud-est de l’Irlande depuis 12 ans. Le dialogue, l’expérimentation et l’intuition sont des stratégies récurrentes dans son travail. Depuis les années 1990, les questions sociétales telles que la migration, le racisme et le changement climatique la fascinent. Elle étudie la condition humaine, ce qui se traduit dans son œuvre par des thèmes tels que la vie et la mort, la peur, l’aliénation et le désir.

L’exposition This is what you came for est conçue comme une rencontre et une invitation. La proposition est née des actions et des créations presque rituelles qu’Els Dietvorst a entamées pendant le lockdown dû au Covid 19. This is what you came for à la CENTRALE et Bozar crée une onde fluide entre les deux lieux où l’un reflète l’autre. Un mélange de sculpture, d’installation, de vidéo et de performance vous fera découvrir l’univers d’Els Dietvorst, qui est toujours à la recherche de liens avec les gens et crée des lieux de rencontre.

 

Exposition

J-93 avant l’ouverture de l’exposition

Artist